Skip's Blips

By Skip

Did you bring me a treat?

Look closely at this little doe. See that tiny tip of a pink tongue sticking out of her mouth. She's hinting that she wants a treat, but she's doomed to disappointment because I didn't bring her one. There are highly visible signs at the entrance of each park that remind visitors: "Please don't feed the wildlife!" Needless to say, this is a request likely to trigger a variety of opinions (and behaviors) from animal lovers who visit the park. Some parks (but not ours) encourage or at least condone people feeding the birds, although not the other critters. I'm not going to weigh in on the merits of feeding vs not feeding. I can appreciate both sides of the issue. However, I just want to point out that the animals obviously have a dog in this fight, as the expression goes, and when this little doe spotted me walking down the trail she immediately began to think of food. So although I have not been feeding them, apparently someone has. That little pink tongue is the clue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.