Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No drooling!

What a day! At times it got so dark I had to brighten the back light in my Kindle (so handy!) Next minute it would be sunny and blue skies and I'd think that we should venture out, but by the time I'd get organised, it'd be lashing hail stones, or snowing.

Archie has spent the morning on my knee, sometimes hanging over the arm of the chair, every now and again harrumphing quietly under his breath if a bunch of yelling schoolchildren went by, or a big noisy truck. Mind you, he may get this from me, as I harrumph too. That secondary glazing should do the trick for both of us.

His paw is much better, though the hair is rusty red from his saliva. I still sometimes put the cone on at night to stop him quietly chewing to his heart's content, undisturbed by pesky humans. We can generally keep an eye on him and stop this in the evenings by reminding him - 'CONE!'

I am working up to venturing into town at some point in the next week or so. I have realised that all my shoes are dog walking shoes - ie pretty scruffy. I don't really have comfortable smart-ish ones for, say, a luxury holiday with some walking. This will require quite a lot of working up to...

I'm reading 'The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden' - not quite as riveting as my last few books, so it's harder to settle down to read for a sustained period - I'm easily distracted. Though I did get a few chapters read at 3am after a toilet visit. (I love my new Kindle-with-a-backlight).

I don't usually feed Archie with any of our food - I don't want him hanging around people, drooling. But cheese and apples are our absolute favourite snacks ( I can't really call Maltesers a snack...) so I do give him a few token pieces. Especially when he poses for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.