Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

Finding myself

My mother always says I look my best with short hair and she kept it that way when I was a little girl.  

But during primary school I let it grow and kept it long until after my confirmation (at 14) when it was short(er) again.  
Since then it's mostly been short, except for a brief period in 1990-1992.

I had it cut again when Dagur was a baby (no time for hair washing and styling when there's a vomiting, snotfilled baby waiting to be fed and rediapered!)

Last August I was determined to let it grow long and see if I'd like to keep it that way.  I guess I was thinking it would be more feminine and modern to have long hair...?  But today, five months in, I just got fed up with this unruly mess of (increasingly) grey and curly hair and went to get it cut.

So there...this is how I'm supposed to be!  Grey hair, wrinkles, dark circles, sad winter face and all.  Things can only get better now...I might even put on some make-up tomorrow! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.