MonoMonday: DISTANT: mm50

This dog statue from the Distant Past resides, where else...but in the Dog Park. I know not the history behind it, just that when I first experienced Dogwood Park fourteen years ago, on a visit to Gainesville from our home in Miami, it was there. It has certainly seen better days, one back leg has deteriorated down to just the iron stake tethering it to the ground. The dog's body is covered with a wonderfully soft  green patina of moss and light colored lichens give it character. I've seen dogs new to the park bark at it until they realize, sheepishly, that it's only concrete. Dogs have been known to run into it thinking, I assume, that it's a flesh and blood dog who will, of course, get out of their way. I treasure this old statue and feel good that it continues to be, day in and day out...the Guardian of Dogwood Park.

Thank you, Skeena, for once again hosting MonoMonday. I must say, this mm took some thought :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.