Lala's Journal

By Lala

Peacocks!

Dreary Monday, wet, windy and just dreary! I couldnt find anything i wanted to photograph today. Maybe i was a bit low because it was the anniversary of my dad's death, albeit 17 years. I dont usually 'do' this sort of anniversary, but in the past either my brother or i would have spent the day with Mum, and as she passed away in April last year, it just all felt final today.

So, what to photograph? In the end I settled on a thing of beauty, one of the feathers shed last year by a Leeds Castle resident peacock. We have all his discarded feathers in a vase, after he spent the summer wooing a peahen on the terrace outside the education centre. Every morning my colleagues and i would have to clear the terrace of peacock poop before the school arrived! Only fitting we get to keep last years moult before he starts the chase all over again.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.