Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Switch control with DCC

Today I programmed my first Switch-8.  It is a DCC board (green board on the blip) that will mount under the layout and control eight individual switches or turnouts.  Very cool technology.  I followed the instructions and it was simple to assign switch numbers to each of the eight outputs.  Each switch on my railroad will have a unique number.  Then as the trains are running, I can turn a switch with my hand controller (at the right of the photo) by entering that switch's number, pushing enter, and pushing the button corresponding to the direction desired.  The display shows me the position of the switch.  

There are two huge advantages to all of this.  I can sit and run my railroad and turn whatever switch I need without moving or while standing at the other end of the layout.  Comfy.  And even better I run two wires from the power bus to the board, and two wires from the terminals to each of the eight switches.  That is it.  No DPDT toggle switches to wire.  No toggles in my fascia.  Lots less wire and toggles makes for very fast installation.  This product is made by my DCC system maker, NCE, but will work with any system.  It is just that NCE is so easy (in my opinion) to use.  Since I have 50 switches, there are five more boards to program.  Sort of expensive but what a time saver and way better control. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.