Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Bringing the cattle to Dolores

It is fall in Dolores (OK I am a little late) and the RGS is bringing in a line of stock cars for the fall rush.  Had to take a break from laying and wiring switches on the N scale to run some Sn3 trains.  The loco on the lead is #455 - "post wreck". It seems that the RGS ran this loco off the tracks and had to replace the cab.  All they had was a standard gauge cab so on it went.  That is why the cab looks sort of strange.  Many think this is an ugly duckling but I like it.

I can see from the photo that I need more vegetation here.  But I think the next project on this layout will be building a water tower for Dolores.  I had several wood kits to build, and they are not easy.  I kept putting it off. Then PBL came out with a plastic kit that was dead on with all the details so I sold the wood kits and bought a plastic one.  Also bought a sound module.  What???  Yes - pull a locomotive up to the water tank and push a hidden button and you will hear the fireman open the water tank cover on the tender, the spout lowering, a rush of water, the sport retracing, and the lid slamming shut.  The spout on the tank will lower in concert with the sound, and raise again.  Very cool - if you are a train geek like me. Take a look at PBL's web site (http://www.p-b-l.com).  Click on "New Arrivals" at the left side, then the photo of the water tank on the next page that loads, and then the arrow to start the movie.  Way cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.