River of Flowers

By doffy

Slices of Horse Chestnut Branch

Heavy rain first thing this morning after a night of howling winds, didn't sleep well again. Spent most of the morning trying to catch up with all my Blip friends' journals ... Ongoing ...!

By the end of the morning the rain had stopped, wind almost non-existent so I had an enjoyable time tidying up the greenhouse. Sowed two different sorts of sweet peas (freebies from magazines) - these have been covered with old net curtains to keep slugs and snails out.

Temperature was only 6 degrees C but so nice to be outdoors doing something!!

I then sawed a branch off the horse chestnut tree in the garden, it needs a lot of pruning having grown vigorously over the past few years. I used the saw to make some nice thin slices of the branch, the nice thing about horse chestnut is that it oxidises when sawn and will dry to a lovely deep rich brown. These slices will be used in a totally new project - MrD bought me a pyrography set for Christmas and I've seen some nice ideas on Pinterest.

Happy Birthday to my dear friend Margaret, hope your day went well :-) x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.