creative lenna

By creativelenna

Crinum Lily or Spider Lily

"The Crinum Lily is a spectacularly huge lily. It grows rapidly to over 5' high with 5' long sword to strap shaped leaves.  The plant is native to the tropics and subtropics, some species are native to Florida. Of the family Amaryllidaceae, it is cultivated for its beautiful, fragrant flowers, and enormous size."

This one grows in my Mom's garden, one of several plants there! They multiply easily. I have blipped a crinum lily at least twice before, once in 2012 and earlier in 2011 -that one with some wild Photoshop treatment. I think this is such an interesting plant and flower, it fascinates me. I also like the way the FZ-200 Lumix camera treated this subject. I am having fun seeing what it can do! It was a bit of a rainy day today and seeing this beauty at my mom's was a definite bright spot. Hope your Monday was good!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.