Resting

This is bird Nø 28 for 2015. AND it is one which I did not see last year. The Tauhou (Silvereye) was first recorded in New Zealand in 1832, with greater numbers arriving in 1856 (the same year the Breadlbane arrived at Waipu with my ancestors). Breeding was recorded for the first time in 1856, and it is now abundant. 

They eat fruit and insects. While their eating of insects may benefit orchardists, they are small enough to get through bird netting and damage the fruit. Consequently, they are regarded as a pest.

All the family were here at the beach house today, and we had a wonderful time, which included a great lunch (prepared by S and Jesafly), followed by what the Blue Mountain cousins have called "the Kiwi Christmas"; an exchange of gifts, focussed mostly on the children (of all ages!).

Afterwards, Tsuken and I took the four children down to our beach (which as on Sunday was actually ours without anyone else until 10 minutes before we left, when one other person came for a swim). Great fun was had. My new camera has had such a busy workout in its first week, that the battery needed recharging. The quality of photos obtained with the Lumix disappointed, and I went back to one of the first photos of the day.

When I emerged from sleep, Tsuken showed me his photo of the Tauhou, and I went looking. They are very busy little birds and rarely stay still long enough to get a decent photo. This one pleases me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.