I'm warning you!

First day of clinical work since 13 November. Two months. It was nice to be welcomed back. Staff and patients both, not all of whom knew why I'd been away. A full day, without being too busy to complete all the paper work. Well, it's no longer paper work, as I write the notes on the computer. While more legible, it does take longer to do.


My next day of work is not until Wednesday next week, making it a very gently re-introduction. I'm making myself be very sensible.

Driving there from the Beachhouse and then back again this evening, means that I had taken only one photo by the time I got back; one not very good photo of an Australian magpie in the middle of a sports field.

Inside, from the main room I looked out at the birdtable and saw that it was empty and there were no birds in the nearby trees. Not surprising, as I had not put new seed out before going to work. Five minutes later, the sparrows were in the Pohutukawa tree, chittering away with what seemed an insistent note. Rather facetiously, I said that they were calling me to feed them. S agreed, and said that she had not heard them at all before then; she has never put out the seed.

I had hardly re-entered the house from giving them some seed, when the first sparrows arrived to get food. One juvenile demanded to be given food from a parent, and was fed. It was some minutes later before the first greenfinch arrived ( the one in the background of this photo). The sparrows were at the other end of the table; one cock sparrow came to this end with the result I managed to record in this photo. Thereafter, for quite some time there was a sparrow end and a greenfinch end. Eventually, they all relaxed and fed alongside each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.