An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

From the Pulpit: World's First Methodist Chapel

1739; John Wesley's Chapel, Bristol

Today I went inside the world's first Methodist Chapel, in Bristol's Broadmead district. I am not religious but anything of historical interest and where you can take photos, and I am right in there! Added that it's free (donation given) and you try keeping me away....

I am thus an international bringer of knowledge with my Blip today. I will have probably taken more dramatic/'interesting' images by the end but I know that this building will be of interest to many, as the Methodist movement has in particular become popular in the United States.

Official website

Visit Bristol's guide

John Wesley, on Wikipedia

The Chapel is staffed by volunteers and they were happy to impart historical information though, quite rightly, didn't drive their 'brand' of worship at you, though I am sure they could have if requested. With Wesley's simple living quarters and other associated rooms on display and a little shop, there is plenty to see for an hour or so.

You can stand at the actual pulpit that Wesley preached from, with the whole congregation below you. My shot here is with the super-wide 14mm Sigma, so it looks much bigger and far away than in reality but I like the way the lens basically 'gets it all in'.

ps The clock was stuck at that time and thus not an indicator of when I was actually there!   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.