Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Remembering Russia

Dear Diary,

Twenty five years ago this summer I made my first trip to Europe.  I toured England by myself and it was an amazing journey.  I love to travel and have been very fortunate to visit some fascinating places...like Russia.  Like Japan, I traveled with a group of educators, National Board teachers this time.  We divided our time between Moscow and St. Petersburg.

On my father's side, I have middle European heritage, Polish primarily.  I immediately took to the landscape and people. We visited all the typical sights, like Lenin's tomb, St. Basils, the Hermitage and Catherine's Palace but I loved the small markets and the countryside most.  I bought this set of matryoshka nesting dolls and it is my favorite remembrance piece from Russia.

Each little doll is painted with a different scene but I especially like the large one, with the troika sled.  Troika is Russian for "three of a kind".  It reminds me of the sleds in one of my favorite movies of all time, Doctor Zhivago.  About time to get that one out for my annual viewing...next big snowfall...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.