Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

"I've Got to Hand it to You!"

Dear Diary,

I don't need another photographic project, that's for sure.  But this one has been rumbling around in my head for some time.  I do love the idea of photographing hands...hands at work and hands at rest.  I thought it might be fun to ask some people to model holding one item that could symbolically represent a "gift" they would like to give people.  It would represent what they feel is important to have in life.

This is my "gift"...a seeking heart.  It is a little leather scallop shell I got in France when I was visiting Chartres.   Scallop shells were carried by pilgrims to signify to others that they were on a journey...a pilgrimage.  This one clips to your belt and opens up so you can put coins in it but I carry my "tokens", little pieces of mica that I pick up around my home and leave at places that have special meaning to me  when I travel.

Having a perpetually seeking heart is my gift to all of you and remember,

What you are seeking is also seeking you.  - Rumi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.