A quiet day...

Dear Diary,

Yesterday was one of those lovely, quiet days.  After I shoveled I retreated to my sitting room with a new book I have been waiting for and which had just arrived.  A couple of years ago I read a wonderful novel by Sibyl Dana Reynolds called Ink and Honey.   "Ink and Honey is the story of a sacred journey through the medieval French countryside with the sisters of Belle Coeur, a community of radically independent healers, visionaries, mystics and artisans who live by their wits and their prayers. Goscelin, the dedicated scribe, records her sisterhood's stories, visions and prophecies in her community's journal while surrounded by holy madness, suspicion and the imminent threat of death at the stake."

Her latest book, The Way of Belle Coeur, arrived yesterday and it was just the thing to curl up with by the fire.  It is subtitled, "A Woman's Vade Mecum" which is a Latin word that means "goes with me".  It is a handbook companion to Ink and Honey that focuses on writing and creative exercises.  Over this year I will be working with this handbook as a way to explore my inner landscape while my camera, and this journal, seeks to explore the outer landscape.

I've added the badge used in the workbook that describes the four areas I will be exploring this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.