Mr.& Mrs. Cardinal pay a visit....

Dear Diary,

The ornamental crab apple tree is nearly devoid of berries but Mr. and Mrs. Cardinal were able to find a few stragglers.  I planted this tree in 2000 in memory of my favorite aunt who had passed away the previous December.  She was my dad's favorite sister and they were very close all their lives. (Extra photograph)

She adored watching the birds in her tiny backyard in Brighton and when I lived with her while I was studying at Harvard we would sit at her kitchen table with our coffee and watch them come and go and we would talk of so many things.  One of my most favorite memories.

In my new book, The Way of Belle Coeur, I have already learned a new word, anamnesis, which means "intentional recollection".  That pretty much sums up this journal for me.  It goes on: " Anamnesis is helpful to curate, archive, and pass along our individual and shared spiritual and creative legacies."  I couldn't think of a better way to describe what we all do each day with our words and images.  Anam is the Gaelic word for "soul" and I think that is what we do here in our journals...we reveal our soul essence through our photographs.

If you haven't donate to Blipfoto, please consider doing it right now.  We all have so much to share and the site gives us the perfect vehicle to practice our own anamnesis!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.