PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Light respite

You'd think, being a highland lad, born and bred, that I'd be able to handle the dark nights of winter. Instead, despite 40 plus years of experience, I always, every winter, struggle. I struggle to wake up, and then I struggle to stay awake past 3:30 / 4pm by which time it's bloody dark again.

Instead, I begin to understand why so many scots leave, to form a global diaspora, in less dreich and grim climes. What keeps me going is the promise of long summer nights, submitting my blips by the light of the setting sun late into the night.

Right now though, my lifeline is a little pocket sun. A wee SAD light, which gives my brain the wake up boost that even coffee can't. I was skeptical, but after a couple of years of use, I can testify to it's usefulness.

It provides an interesting light for self portraits too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.