TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Copse

I took The Principal to the station at Martin Mill. The stopping high speed train takes an hour and ten minutes to get to St Pancras and Martin Mill is closer and nicer than Dover Priory. There were two people on the platform.

The 'Victoria Pendleton' duly came and I drove onto the back lanes of what is sometimes referred to as the 'empty quarter' of Kent (don't laugh). It's rolling, expansive downland nearly all turned to arable crops. Here and there are vestigial pastures and smaller fields and glowing woodland of coppiced hazel and ash.

I took a load of photos in the biting wind and brilliant sunshine. And then went down to the Bay. I'll put an album of them on my blog here. I chose the simple photo in the end: winter wheat and a copse. It's from a tiny lane and someone came along and I had to back up a long way to let them through.

In the 'empty quarter' there is still one lane that has two gates on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.