Water, Water, Everywhere ...

The most exciting part of my day was actually done and dusted before I even got to work this morning ...
I set out for work on foot just before 6 AM, but had to briefly return home to collect something that I'd left behind ... It meant that I was now a couple of minutes later than I should have been ... but if I put a spurt on, then I could probably cut my journey down from about 9 minutes, to about 7 ... So with my coat on and my head down, I set off ... again.
The weather breezy, but actually quite dry ... I had a torch with me, but even though it was nearly pitch dark, I didn't bother switching it on ...
I was nearly half way when it started spitting with rain ... I plodded on with my head down.
Suddenly there was a very bright flash of light that seemed to come from everywhere ... I quickly looked up expecting to see somebody in front of me flashing a torch in my direction ... but there was nobody ... Instead, there was a slight delay followed by an almighty crash of thunder ...
(In case you're wondering, I haven't reached the exciting bit yet.)
"Wow," I thought ... then quickly continued on my way.
The rain was starting to fall a little bit heavier, but still nothing serious ...
Then as I rounded the next corner - within sight of my destination - I heard the strangest sound ...
It sounded like "white-noise" (the type of hissing sound that comes from an out of tune radio) ... At first I thought it was the wind in the trees, but it was too uniform ...
It was also getting louder ... and louder ...
... and louder ... !!!!
There was another flash of lightning, but I didn't wait to hear the thunder, because at that very moment I was put in no doubt as to what the hissing noise was ...
"Oh heck ..." I muttered to myself as ran for cover ... but I was too late ... :o|
---
I often complain about drizzle ... and how it seems that drizzle appears to get people wetter than any other type of precipitation ...
I was wrong ...
The hail storm that hit me on my way to work this morning, drenched me within about 2 seconds ... :o(
---
(The irony is, if I'd not returned home in the first place, then I might have got to work dry.) ... :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.