Sunny Robin

We went to our daughter's today - and then went to the RSPB reserve at Old Moor near Barnsley.

We had some vouchers which included admission and coffee/tea and a cake. We went to the cafe first and bought lunch to go with our 'free' refreshments!

Then we went for a wander around the reserve, it was lovely and sunny but there weren't that many birds around - at least not close enough to see.

There were some serious 'twitchers' there with some enormous lenses on their cameras, as well as some pretty strong binoculars! I did recognise a few birds (geese, mallards etc.) but we did keep overhearing 'redshank' mentioned - so am wondering if this was a special visitor! I have no idea if I actually saw one.

Blip is of a robin who posed on a post for a few seconds - he was bathing in the sunlight. However, even though it was only about 3 or 4 metres away and I used max 300 mm zoom, I have had to seriously crop the image!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.