Clouds of Sand Were Blowing Along the Beach

7.0C and mostly dry with a few spots of rain in the afternoon. The Met. Office data website for Leuchars which I usually use for wind speeds hasn't been reporting until 3pm when the wind was reported as 44 mph with gusts of 60 mph. I shall presume that higher speeds and gusts were recorded between 11am and 2pm. The Tay bridges have been closed and have reported stronger gusts.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went out for a walk after lunch and before the forecast rain. We went down the road to the shore road and over the road bridge over the railway line to the beach at Westhaven. The sea looked very rough and clouds of sand were blowing along the beach. Maeve and I could hardly stand still at the back of the beach so we didn't stay long. I have rarely felt the wind as strong since we came here to live. It felt more like gales I remember on the Isle of Lewis and the one winter we had on Orkney.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/400 sec. ISO-80 8mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.