Inverculain

By Inverculain

Derelict Thursday: The Elvian School, revisited

For the last Derelict Thursday of 2014, I blipped a shot of the Elvian School in Reading. As I was leaving, I spotted, down a lane off the road, another one the school buildings that looked promising; I went back today to have a proper look at that.

That proved to be a good descision! I could get much closer to this building, and it's a nice one, though in a somewhat sorry state today. It seems to consist of an older core that has some very attractive features, with "blocky" modern extensions. Given the bricks have aged to a fairly uniform colour, and the whole thing is in a pretty advanced state of dereliction, the modern parts don't jar too badly. 

After a night of heavy rain (and sleet, by the sound of it), the sun was shining brightly when I shot it, and I think that adds to piquancy of the overall scene. It'll be a shame if no-one finds a use for this lovely old place before it passes beyond repair.

This week's challenge is hosted by Himself. All entries can be found under the tag DerelictThursday. (And I'm hoping the tagging works for me this time - although I tagged and re-tagged my entry last week, I can't get it to show up in searches.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.