A Treat

I had to go into Lidl this evening to buy coriander. 

I noticed the lychees at the end of the aisle. I've never seen them displayed "loose" before in this country, so you can just scoop some up and get them weighed at check out. They're always in a plastic box of 6. Is it worth all that packaging for 6 lychees?

Sadly, I had fruit at lunchtime so that's it for today. High glucose level. A diabetes risk. The treat is for tomorrow. Which reminds me, no UK doctor has ever flagged up that I shouldn't eat more than 1 piece of fruit a day, and that it's best to eat it at breakfast or latest at lunch. That advice came free of charge, via the German health service. 

We have come to the conclusion UK doctors much prefer treating symptoms of sick people as compared with preventing them getting ill in the first place.     

I love lychees, mangosteens, longans, rose apples, plum mangos and suchlike. I loved rambutans until I found a wriggly thing in one. I'm not a durian fan. 

I need a trip to Southeast Asia. Sadly (again) I'm high risk for deep vein thrombosis so a 13 hour flight isn't ideal. 

More cycling and bodypump over the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.