An Artist's Life

By MariB

Fabrication department

This is part of the fabrication department. There are 10 areas where the guys weld together the cast parts of each sculpture. Here you see a life-size horse laying down in the foreground, a twice - life man and behind those are a twice - life Indian on horseback, a huge eagle and the head of a twice - life bull. The guy in the the forefront is my fabricator....only he and the production manager weld my work. Each artist has a team...they become used to each artist's style and know exactly how we want things done. My former welder was killed in an explosion at the foundry last year.
I'll return in March to supervise the major welding on my Cheyenne and Cape Buffalo and do the finish chasing and patina. I always finish my work myself. Most artists never go to the foundry. I have never just sent stuff in in my 49 years of casting. Art is too personal to me and the last stroke on it is always mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.