Washday blues

Well, hardly, but a really grey wet day - couldn't see s single hill from the house all day! So I thought I'd get some washing done. 

I think the technical aspects are more interesting than the pic, which after all, is just a bit of fun. Table tripod set in the back of the washing machine with D800 and fisheye lens on it. Centre weighted metering, to get the exposure right on me (took a few attempts messing around with exposure compensation). I didn't have room in the drum for a full flash, so used the pop-up flash on the camera to illuminate the inside of the drum, but as the coverage of a pop up flash is about 74 degrees (about the same as a 28mm lens) and the fisheye is 180 degrees, to fully diffuse the light and get it into the corners of the shot, I stuck some white masking tape over the flash (as it was cream, it did change the colour of the flash to the ambient lighting outside the machine - bonus!) 

The best wide flash diffuser in the world is a cheap plastic disposable coffee cup - gives 360 degree coverage!

Fun setting it up and doing it - sorry about the ugly mug in the middle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.