A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Flower Power

I struggle with the logic of this sort of thing. One one hand I'm glad we are trying to find alternative means of producing energy but why try and sell energy efficiency as a money saving idea?

I was told 2 years ago my boiler was getting old, it's now about 8 years old. If I had a new 'A' rated one installed I'd save money. Fitting it would cost more than all my energy bills put together over a 10 year period by which time the boiler would need replacing. The saving on energy would be about 10% of my current cost. So they were trying to sell a new boiler to save me money but it would cost me 90% more to do so...

So this wonderful installation at my local garden centre is meant to cover a normal household energy usage, even during the dullest of days, like today. It sort of looks good, way better than the roof things popular these days and folds away at night whilst self cleaning it's petals. 

So what's wrong with it? The price for one. Although the website won't tell you, you have to call an agent, you'll not get much change from £19,000 for this large version or £13,000 for the smaller one. Currently that's 10 years worth of my energy bills and doesn't include maintenance contract costs or repairs. Will it still work in 10 years? Will the Government start to heavenly tax these things once they lose tax elsewhere? I remember when diesel was promoted as the best fuel, now it cost more...

Until this sort of technology is produced at a cost effective price people will struggle with what they have. Energy prices will go up but most can't afford to pay 10 years worth in advance.

The other issue is where do you put something like this? It's about 12' across and stands about 20' high!

I'll get off my soapbox now, have a nice weekend... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.