A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Scooter Park.

Outside Eaton House Belgravia Boys School. 

I guess someone has needed to use his sister's T-Bar scooter this morning or maybe not...


Today I visited the Science Museum to see the 'Drawn by Light' RPS collection. Fascinating to see photographic history in the flesh, including one of my favourites by Steve McCurry, Afghan Girl. I was amazed to be able to see the reflection of the land, sky and a building in here eyes. Just wonderful.


I came away quite stunned by one image, or should I say five images by Melvyn O'Gorman. His image of Christina has been used to advertise the collection and I did wonder why.

It's quite a timeless image and could have been taken this year but I had guessed it was from the mid sixties. I couldn't have been further from the truth. It was taken in 1913 just 6 years or so after colour prints had been developed. Incredible.

In the next display area is housed 'Make Life Worth Living' a hard-hitting collection of documentary photographs by Nick Hedges showing life in the slums of Britain during the late 60's, early 70's. An eye opener.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.