Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

What a pain - I shot this in Hipstamatic on the iPhone on 15th, but apparently it did not get processed and make it to my computer until 16th, and so was dated as such. Consequently when I posted the picture on Blip it appeared as the picture for 16th, not 15th!!! This should I hope put it in the correct date - now I just have to work out how I can load today's (16ht) correct picture when there is already a picture there!!

I really think I am going to reduce my frequency of Blipping, or possibly give up altogether - I spend far too much time on a single image each day,  many of which have no merit, rather than working on the images I really like, of which there may be several from one day, and none for several other days. Blip for me is a bit like golf - a good walk spoilt (Mark Twain), or how I used to feel about doing 100Km Brevet Populaire cycle events (a good cycle ride spoilt by the need to follow a predefined route, at a particular speed).

Apologies to anyone whose original comment on this photo has got lost in this process - here is my original caption for this photo:
"Netbooks have rather fallen out of favour now, perhaps as a result of the appearance of the iPad et al. Asus produced the first one - the eeePC, which had a tiny amount of storage, and was rather limited in what software it could run as a result (and also due to the fact that it ran Linux). The Samsung NC10 appeared very soon afterwards, and was much more practical, with a hard disc and running Windows XP. I used mine quite a lot, though recently it has been at the BCLM - not as an exhibit of course, but just in case I need a computer while I was there (we used it to copy some oral history tapes, amongst other things). I've just reclaimed it, with a view to throwing out my XP desktop and keeping this available just in case I need an XP machine. Of course it has the considerable advantage over tablets in that it runs a standard (or what was a standard) OS. Actually mine dual boots into Windows XP or Linux."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.