Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Birthday cake

Last night I got a very excited and happy phone call from Luke to say that he has passed Level 1 as a ski instructor (so is now qualified to teach little children...'and you mum, I know just how to improve your technique!') and is now on Level 2 which qualifies him to teach anyone, anywhere...except France, who are the only country that require instructors to have Level 4 which takes 3 years of full time training, not an option for him. And...he got an early offer from Durham University, which he is delighted with. It ranks number one in the UK for French, German and Iberian languages and Gavin and I always felt it was a far better course than the one at Oxford. Offers are usually made in March but for some reason he has received this offer now, which was a blessing, just what he needed to cheer him up.

Today I decided to bake a chocolate cake for Thomas' birthday tomorrow. I am not a confident baker, I have to follow a recipe step by step but usually it turns out very well. This is a cake I have often made often, but today it is a little wonky, leaning a bit like the Tower at Pisa. I am sure Thomas will still enjoy it - it seemed to take all morning to make and then to tidy up afterwards. That icing sugar seems to settle everywhere when you are sifting it...

Gavin is finally home tomorrow from the US, in time for Thomas' birthday and the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.