Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

"Ineffably sublime"

(Nice to see the Choose Thumbnail option back on Blip)

Ok... for the second time as the first journal disappeared when I did a cut and paste job...

I have not done much at all today mainly due to not being 100%, so after being on the sofa nearly all afternoon, I decided enough’s enough and tackled some ironing. I then decided I really wanted to play my guitar (first time this year) whilst listening to a Welsh Choir, so out that came and it was GREAT to go through my favourite song book (Songs of Fellowship Book 1) and play some well-loved hymns along with the occasional Carol (Hark the Herald). Played the carols mainly for exercise as I am so rusty. I can’t believe how many chord changes there are.

My title is a line from one of the hymns I played. (Any guesses?) The words “ineffably sublime” jumped out at me! Such poetry. They sure don’t write them like they used to and I think we are the poorer for it!

Whilst with my music stuff, I thought I’d tidy up my bag a bit and found a piece of paper with the poem below on it… think you might appreciate it. I used to be an avid duster, but the cleaner sort-of takes care of most of the dusting now… Have a good weekend!
_________________________________________________________________

Dust if you must
by Rose Milligan

Dust if you must, but wouldn't it be better
To paint a picture, or write a letter,
Bake a cake, or plant a seed;
Ponder the difference between want and need?

Dust if you must, but there's not much time,
With rivers to swim, and mountains to climb;
Music to hear, and books to read;
Friends to cherish, and life to lead.

Dust if you must, but the world's out there
With the sun in your eyes, and the wind in your hair;
A flutter of snow, a shower of rain,
This day will not come around again.

Dust if you must, but bear in mind,
Old age will come and it's not kind.
And when you go (and go you must)
You, yourself, will make more dust.
________________________________________________________________

I haven't dusted today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.