Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Dubai Garden Glow

A new attraction opened in Dubai just before Christmas... right on our doorstep. Zabeel Park have so much space to fill up...

So, after a very early start (for a Saturday), we dropped G's car off to get some detailing done on it, then raced to DECC to the Bible Society Book shop, then home for a nap bit before meeting up with friend Marja to spend the rest of the day with her.

First stop: Carter's - for lunch. She's been introduced to one of Dubai's institutions now. We've had a beautiful week of temps hovering around 24degC. It has continued to the weekend - which is very welcome. We then showed her the wonders of Wafi. Unfortunately, we were very pressed for time, so couldn't linger.

Had to stop off at home very quickly before finally making it to the Park which is between home and work. I'm so pleased we went, as the coolness of the evening was perfect. None of us knew quite what to expect. A newspaper article had described it as "art by day, glow in the night". I hoped we could see it before sunset, but really, it's got to be viewed in the night. I've made a collage of some of my best shots and the most interesting displays.

And I used Manual to get the result I wanted, and it's worked really well! Thrilled.

I have to say, it felt amazing to be at such a cool attraction so close to home. We can literally walk to it from the flat. That's what I call "too much man!"

Again, too tired to think of blipping last night. I had to be ready for work. At least it wasn't a mega early start! :)

PS. Forgot to mention... have you seen those new luminous shoes that kids wear, with multi-coloured lights... Marja and I want to get some! This would have been the perfect place to wear them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.