Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Broadchurch....

It was so cold and miserable today that I decided not to bother going out to take pictures. But I needed one because I am so close to having done this for a year that I don't want to miss a day. So here's one of me watching some TV!

This afternoon I watched some of Broadchurch. I'd not heard of this programme until there was all the hype a couple of weeks ago. I was going to try it out until someone pointed out there had already been a series a year ago which had completely passed me by. Someone offered me the loan of a DVD and I just got round to watching some this afternoon.

Such has been the hype over this programme that I thought I was going to have my socks knocked off by it. But I found myself being completely underwhelmed. I can't pin down why exactly. Probably something to do with an hour long story being spun out for eight weeks. Convoluted story lines replacing plot. Poor character drawing meaning I can't connect to anyone. The dead kid's mother was particularly irritating. And that in a programme that has David Tennant doing his usual running about and shouting and confusing it with dramatic acting. Loud music and mumbled dialogue. Plus someone told me that the police woman's husband had done it and I didn't fancy going through eight hours of TV to get to a conclusion I already knew.

I'll have to think of some noncommittal way of thanking the person for the loan of the DVD. I won't be watching the rest of it and I won't be bothering with the new series either....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.