Northern Exposure

The hat theme continues. There were actually three of them, all sporting spectacular winter headgear, but my timing was off because their bus turned up just as I was about to frame a shot and they moved to join the queue to board. I grabbed Terry here at the end of the line and gave him no choice really. When I need a shot quickly I become very assertive! There was no time for a conversation. I know nothing of his story so I'm going to pretend he's from Alaska. That's actually more appropriate than it might seem because a  few minutes earlier Shipley had been consumed by a blizzard. Unfortunately, by the time I escaped the office it had blown through to give way to blue skies. It was that kind of day.

I wrote the word Alaska and a title for this blip popped straight into my head. Who remembers the TV show of that name? It must be just about my favourite series of all time. It defined the word 'quirky' for me. I look forward to a time when I have the space in my life to watch it all over again from the start. I think that would be an enormous pleasure.

You saw me smiling in yesterday's blip (and how could I not have smiled as I sneaked that shot) and I've continued to smile a great deal today, more than I have in a long while indeed. It was a rare day when everything came together, a design proved to be effective, all the code written this week implemented with a bare minimum of debugging required, the whole solution working just as it had been specified. I experienced a moment of power that once used to feed me on a daily basis. It was great to be able to enjoy that feeling again. For once, it seemed that I was a master of technology rather than being its slave. I felt in control. I need that feeling more often!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.