The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Big scary bearded man

During the day I went to the War Remnants Museum which was full of amazing but horrific photography. In the evening I was once again taken on the back of a bike to an area where tourists don't go. This time for 'phở chua', a type of phở from the north of Vietnam which is sour and isn't soup-based. It has ribbon noodles, tamarind sauce, a mixture of meat and topped with crispy pork fat and chilli. It was fantastic, much better than the soup phở, but I do love tamarind and am not the greatest fan of noodle soups.

After the meal I went to take some photos of the food stall. The girl in the background was crying hysterically. As we walked away I was told that the girl was crying because of me. It's likely she's never seen a westerner before or at least not many at all. She's probably never seen a beard either.

I made a little girl cry. Maybe I should shave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.