TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Winter Quince

Yesterday I went down the increasingly muddy garden to put some stuff on  the compost heap. On the way back I noticed that the quince that had fallen in the autumn were glowing beneath the quince bush. I picked them up and they were still as hard as golf balls. So I brought them in and washed them and took some photos of them in the dish we brought back from (namedrop) Rajasthan.


The lighting was terrible - just an ordinary bulb directly overhead. But I did a proper white balance test (a first) and created a pre-set to inform the white balance. I was terribly impressed with myself.

You can see the results on my blog. This morning I came down to the most  brilliant winter sunshine angling into the kitchen. Two foxes were coupling in the garden and a woodpecker was drumming away his territorial song.

I took a rapid series of photos of the blessed quince in the strong, angular light  without repeating the white balance text as time seemed of the essence - the movement of the earth to the sun is remarkable when you see a series of shots from a still point.

I've ummhed and ahhed over the better shot but then that also depends on what you want. I'll put my favourite three up on the blog with a little explanation of each one - as much for my memory as anyone elses' benefit.

Then I was off to Deal to shop but had to stop to take a few photos of the huge sky over the North Downs in the biting wind. By the afternoon cold sleety rain had set in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.