WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Château Montrabech-Pitt

It's a pity it's not Thursday today, because this old wine estate is a rich source of blips. It's been in my blip bank for a while, but I've never stopped till today. However, I had one of those days where I took lots of photos, liked what I saw on the back of the camera, and then didn't like them when I saw them on the computer. I will just have to go back.

This part of the chateau is next to the road: a massive turreted residence with huge barns and outbuildings. Across the road, and up a pine-bordered drive is a huge walled enclosure with a crenellated tower inside it, the grounds now overgrown with trees and the rusting panelled gates locked. On one corner is a battered shrine overlooking the vines. To one side a grove of ancient olive trees which surely must have survived the great frost of February 1956, their leaves glittering silver in the sunshine. And all around, immaculately tended vines

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.