Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Choices

My heart sank when I pulled back the curtains this morning to see big flakes of snow drifting out of the cold grey sky and settling on the frosty ground and rooftops.  I thought my plan to go and stay with Mum would be scuppered, as I don't really do driving in snow and ice.  I was facing a choice between risking a journey in less than ideal conditions and being stuck in the Chiltern Hills with Dad's funeral fast approaching on Tuesday.  But by some miracle the temperature outside seemed to rise enough by half past ten for the snow to start melting on impact, so I was able to get round the M25 and up the A12 by lunchtime after all.  I drove through a fairly thick blizzard for the first half an hour which made for a fairly tense time. The snow showers stopped after lunch and the sun burst through.  We spent the afternoon browsing clothes and accessories, and having a much-needed cup of tea while we were out.  I used half of my Christmas money from Mum and Dad to buy some really comfortable nubuck leather ankle boots.  I hope to get a new cashmere jumper with the rest of the money, to replace a favourite one which is now worn out (I live in cashmere jumpers in the winter - so light and warm).  I think Dad would have approved of my choices.  He was never scruffy himself, and he liked to see Mum and me nicely turned out too.

I've brought three outfits with me to choose from on Tuesday morning for Dad's funeral - two black dresses and a smart black trouser and blouse combination.  I've already worn two of the outfits to previous family funerals, and Mum prefers the dress I bought in the sales a year ago which hasn't been used yet.  I'll probably end up choosing that one.  Today's blipfoto shows some of the detail from its lace sleeves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.