TexMama

By TexMama

Planting

My friend gave me some tulip & crocus bulbs for Christmas this year and I have been waiting to plant them but it's been too cold up until now. The package says October to mid-January, so its really time to get them in the ground.
We are having a little respite from the cold for a few days so I made the most of it...This little bed is right outside the backdoor and has been full of old nasty lava rocks, leaves, and all manner of ugly stuff since we moved in. Added to that, I have always swept the porch straight into it as it was such a waste dump anyway, so the mud that the kids track up to the door, and the bits of wood and bark from the firewood pile have been pushed in there for years.
I came out today and decided that is was way past time this spot was cleaned up and it was a good place to start my bulb planting - so I set to work with a little shovel and took out a 5 gallon bucket full of unwanted stuff. Then sweetgirl and I planted half the tulips and a bunch of crocuses. I hope it gets enough sun for them here - I think it will, as you can maybe see in the pic, we had a nice bit of sun on us while we were working. It will look lovely with flowers in...fingers crossed.

Thanks for the stars for yesterdays half-zebra crossing :0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.