OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Start Point Lighthouse

I liked the shapes and colours here. I'd been up to the Point twice before and hadn't crossed because I hadn't checked the tides...well, first time I didn't even realise there was a channel. I got the bus to drop me at Cata dunes and walked north along the sands skirting the Plain of Fidge and across the Rocks of Smeargo, along the Bays of Lopness and Wheevi until I got to the channel before the Point. I was a bit early for low tide, so waded across with boots in hand. My monopod worked as a pole. I took lots of pictures at the lighthouse and am uploading them onto flickr. The lighthouse is very distinctive...the only one in Scotland with this colour pattern. As for birds..nothing very remarkable except the flock of ravens numbering around one hundred!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.