Chaos and order

Today I embarked on the mammoth task of preparing 8 days of food for my upcoming tramp.

The upper shot it pretty chaotic but it worked.

The lower shot is 4 days of food ready to be packed - or at least put wherever is best for it for now, be it on the tray, or in the fridge or freezer. (I have another 4 days of food I'm keeping separately as it will be part of our food drop. Luxury!).

The left row starts with day time snacks, then a bag of pre-dinner snacks and behind them is dinners. On the menu is lemon chicken, Italian beef and Mexican chilli. They're mostly my own creations I've cooked and dehydrated.

The recognisable blue bag back left, is the Back Country dehy. I'm hoping I won't need to use it but it's a spare dinner and if I'm hungry I'll eat it.

The middle row is lunches. I cut down plastic milk bottles and then fit the bottom parts together. They're light and good for carrying things that otherwise turn to crumbs. 1L bottles fit my cracker nicely and the 2L ones are good at the top of my pack with one day's lunch in it. I'm using one here to carry packets of dried seaweed I got from an Asian shop. They're light and the seaweed is similar to what sushi is wrapped in. It's yummy and has vitamins and trace goodies in in. 

Other than that it's brie cheese for the first couple of days, salami, plastic cheese, beef jerky and one small can of tuna after that. Add in fruit leather, a small muesli bar and a vitamin thing to add to water, and that's lunch.

The row on the right is breakfasts. They're all based on instant oats with various combinations of nuts, dried fruit, protein powder, milk powder, chia seeds and coconut oil added. I'll be beaming when I come across the ones with dried strawberries and blue berries :-)

Breakfast also includes a fruit tea and cappuccino coffee (or something masquerading as such).

Breakfast is 184gm per day (including packaging). Depending on whats on the rest of the menu, weight per day ranges approximately 750gm per day up to just under 900gm. That's all snacks, meals, drinks and packaging.

If I carry in a small plastic bottle with 3 nips of single malt whiskey, it's 36gm per day.

What to do, what to do.... ;-)

(Believe me, this has taken all day).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.