Hot as

I was thinking hot cat on a tin roof but he was simply hot cat today. On hot days he likes to be wiped with a wet cloth, not damp, wet. He's had that a few times today. Tell you what, I'm glad I don't have a plaster cast on my lower leg like I did a year ago.

3 hill repeats this morning. It was cool when I started and hot when I finished 75 minutes later.

Then a few errands and bits and bobs. Then home to the kitchen. Who else but me would decide to put the slow cooker on in the heat of summer? But there was meat in the freezer to be used and with the range hood on we coped.

Just to add the fun I bought heaps of apricots. The dehydrator is humming as I type. The plan is use these when I tramp.

Somewhere in there laundry washing and house work happened.

I had a lovely phone call with Dad. We talked about the uncertainty in front of me and what I'm thinking and feeling. It fluctuates but today it's been all about opportunity and possibilities.

With the heat outside rising, this afternoon I pulled curtains and started the big task of planning 8 days worth of food to tramp with.

Weather permitting I'll be off south next Sunday, tramp Monday to Saturday and then home again. Yes, 6 days is the plan but weather and rivers can change things so I'll carry an extra 2 days of food.

Food for tramping is a military and scientific exercise, especially for multi-day trips. I can get it down to 700-800gm per day. 

It all takes time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.