Back to the Bone Shop

Yesterday we had a funky purple fibreglass cast, today we have the naked reality of my sad looking broken foot.

Must say I was a little taken aback to see the swelling and shape side on. It looks a lot better from the angle I look down on it when I'm on a bed in the Bone Shop.

Last night I started to lose sensation in some of my toes and after 12 hours elevation it wasn't any better this morning. Intermittent pins and needles added to the show today. I spoke to a nurse in the Bone Room last night and this morning. After ascertaining I had normal colour and temperature in all toes they said to turn up this afternoon.

Blimey, I'd forgotten how terrifying it is to have a cast removed with one of those industrial strength cutter things. It seemed to get very close to my skin!

Once the cast was off it was obvious I'd have been in trouble if I hadn't done anything, right along where the edge of the cast met my 4th and 5th toes. My x-rays were studied again and it was decided my fracture can take a moon boot.

Funky, cool purple fibreglass yesterday, un-sexy, ugly yet functional moon boot today. The big advantage is I can take it off before I have a bath/shower. But it is quite heavy. We're still making friends ;-)

I'm impressed with the Bone Room and with our health system. I've had nothing but the best of care and they're very efficient. At the desk they even knew to expect my arrival and they called a taxi for me at the end.

I have plans for this foot and moon boot tomorrow, and none of them involve the Bone Room ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.