The Plaster Room at the Bone Shop

Things went well at the Bone Shop today (that's what the sign in the corridor said ;-)

The fisher/hunter took me to my appointment and I must say he's quick when negotiating me in a wheel chair. I'm relieved happy to report no hxp limbs were accidentally whacked into chairs, door ways or anything else that got in our road ;-)

So far so good. It's too early to know if surgery is required or not but the doc I saw today was optimistic. I have an Avulsion fracture of my 5th metatarsal and if you're going to break a bone in your foot this is one of the better ones to choose.

Here 2 nurses are wrapping the chosen purple fibre glass around my lower leg and foot. The white 'stocking' is against my skin and just been cut and folded back before more fibre glass is added. You can see considerable padding has been added to protect my bony feet. I was impressed with the care and concern.

Large if you want to be impressed too

3 more weeks of this cast then it's off. At that stage they'll decide if I need another cast for a further 2 weeks. In a weeks time I can put a velcro sole thingy on the cast and apply some weight through the foot while still on crutches.

I enthusiastically elected Monday 27th January as the day I'll begin a staged transition back to work beginning with part time. Today my simple appointment had me away from home for 2 hours. While it felt like I was out of prison (I was tempted to do a runner and take my freedom ;-) once home I was surprised at how exhausted I felt. Hmmm, perhaps that return date is a little optimistic.

Dad got a decent top up at his local hospital at the other end of the country and feels more energised.

The little fur child needed all sorts of very expensive blood and pathology tests, along with light sedation so they have a good feel of his abdomen. He's all clear and it seems he's just a very stressed little fella. Probably not all that surprising really given everything that's happened in recent months. I think this qualifies him as New Zealands most expensive black cat.

More happy pills for him, a severely listing bank balance for me but at least he's ok. Hopefully he'll start to feel like his old self.

And today's classic moment....
The doc spelled out that I can't drive, walk, run, tramp, climb.... etc. So I asked dead pan if that also included not biking to work. I got a worthy response from several docs and nurses present ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.