To Dream of Flirting

I got a late Christmas present today - The New Zealand Woman - 80 glorious years of fashion, food and friendship from the pages of the NZ Woman's Weekly.

I'm not a Woman's Weekly reader but I'm delighted with this book of gems. As I thumbed through it I spotted this delight - Matters of etiquette, March 16, 1939.

"To Dream of Flirting foretells a need for revision in your way of life. This dream warns you against being thoughtless to others, and indicates that your ways are lacking in direction.

For a girl to dream of flirting with a man means that she derives too much pleasure from the attentions of the opposite sex. For a man, this dream shows a desire to avoid a full share of responsibility.

For married people to dream of flirting indicates that something is lacking in their marriage. To dream of flirting with someone above your station means that you are harming those more innocent than yourself".


Blimey, I hope I dream of flirting tonight (but 74 years on I doubt it's such a bad thing ;-)

I can see I'm going to have a lot of fun with this book. I love these sorts of things from the past, so much so I've collected a few for light reading in the smallest room in the house :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.