Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

The Work of His Hands

Dear Diary,

I have several examples of my grandfather's handiwork, a blanket chest and chest of drawers.  He was a wonderful woodworker and craftsman.  But I think these two pieces are my favorites.  This rather simply made desk set, letter holder and pencil tray, was made in 1904 when my grandfather was in the 8th grade at the Hyde Park Union School in Dutchess County, New York.

I use to have a photograph taken of my grandfather's class in wood shop but I have not been able to locate it yet but I do have his graduation diploma.  In his day, you graduated in 10th grade and some, who were not needed on the farm, would go on to "high school".  My grandfather didn't.  He went to work on his father's farm at age 16. 

This set has resided on my desk since the late 1970's; he passed in 1978.  I love it's rather primitive carving and I can just imagine him laboring away in the wood shop of his school making it.  Having something my grandfather crafted over 100 years ago is a special treasure and this photograph as well as one of his diploma now rest in the pages of my digital scrapbook but I am blessed to have the real pieces right next to this computer...what a contrast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.