Mom's Tiny Treasures, Part I

Dear Diary,

I finally got out the box of salt cellars and butter pat plates my mother collected and which I inherited.  These are some of the delicate crystal ones I put on the window in the breakfast room so the afternoon light would illuminate them.  As I've said in prior posts, we are a family of collectors.  My passion is china although limited space keeps the passion in check most of the time.

I thought these looked good in black and white and since it is MonoMonday that works out nicely.  This journal has allowed me record small parts of my world, objects that would most likely be lost to time at some point.  Here I can show and talk about one small facet of my mother's life represented by these delicate crystal pieces.

It is snowing again but it's not supposed to amount to much.  A good day for chores around the house.  Every time I see these little pieces sparkling in the window I am reminded of my mother.  As one gets to a "certain age" one finds that memory becomes more and more important.  Even during a mundane day of vacuuming or dusting the mind escapes from time to time to some little memory and I find that very comforting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.