"I come in the little things..."

Dear Diary,

Another perfect snowfall of 4-5 inches.  The softness and quiet covered the landscape and all was infused with a subtle light.  This little Chickadee patiently waited his turn at the feeder on the delicate branches of the Trumpet Vine which I leave untrimmed each year for just this purpose.

I think this photograph may be my favorite image of the winter so far.  The little snowflake on the tip of its beak is so precious and the soft color in the background blurred by snow is a perfect contrast.  The light has a special glow during a snowfall that is hard to explain.  I could sit and watch these tiny creatures for hours and I am reminded of the lovely poem by Evelyn Underhill which reads in part:

"I come in the little things...
Yes! on the glancing wings
Of eager birds, the softly pattering feet
Of furred and gentle beasts, I come to meet
Your hard and wayward heart. In brown bright eyes
That peep from out the brake, I stand confessed."


David will come this afternoon when I return from church to help with the shoveling and bring up some wood from the barn cellar.  It will be a nice peaceful Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.