Welcome Companion

We had snow our way over night which gave a light covering but there was lots of ice around so I thought I’d leave going out in the car for a little while.  Later on I decided to accompany Mr T to the flying field in the hope I might see a Hare or two on the snow covered stubble fields.  As we approached the flying field it was evident that no snow had fallen there!!  Not a flake to be seen, just frozen mud and puddles and lots of little green shoots emerging from the ploughed fields, Starlings Murmurating, a Turnip Harvester and pickers and the small collection of Rare Breed Cattle huddling round their hay byre, but no Hares today.  However, I did see that Sparrow Hawk again and again;  he kept hopping from post to post, on top of the silage mound, and from tree to tree but always just out of my zoom range.
I was just about to give the wildlife up as a bad job when this little fella obliged me by perching on a post not too far away and then chirruped on his way, always just in front of me. It’s been a pretty cold day but I was well prepared wearing lots of layers, scarf and hat, just the nose showing.  My feet were warm and cosy in the Orkney socks which Poppy knitted for me – can’t say the same for my fingers though!
 
Once T had finished flying we had tea and biscuits in the Club House Portacabin and were joined by Mr Robin who gladly accepted the crumbs we dropped for him.
 

And now the weekend’s nearly over, all too soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.