Year 2, Day 364 - Lagangarbh Hut

Day trip Adventure to Glencoe with my dad today.  The first stop was going to be Lochan na h-Achlaise on Rannoch Moor but both lay-bys were full!  There was nowhere else to stop because the snow was piled up on the roadside.  So on we went!

Next stop, Back Rock Cottage at the chair lift.  As we approached the turn off, the main road was lined with cars - on both sides - and actually parked on the road so it was a bit of a squeeze getting through!  Idiots!  There was a guy at the road end stopping people going up there...

Next stop, Glen Etive.  That road hasn't been ploughed and there were already a few cars parked at the turn off so no space for us...

Next stop - a wee cafe just past Glencoe Village where I had a rather lovely bowl of home made tomato soup!  Quick snap looking north from here before heading back south.

First stop - lay-by just before the Devil's Staircase which is where I got this shot.  I like the simplicity of this.

Second stop, Glen Etive.  We managed to get stopped at the road end and we walked down to the bridge - slowly, as my knee was bothering me.

Next stop, a lay-by just past the ski lift - the police were now on the scene doing convoys through the packed cars.  Still quite a few but not as many as earlier on.

My dad said, "Let's walk over that small hill".  Of course the snow was deeper than we thought and every step was knee deep!  So we turned back and on the way back I took a step and my whole leg disappeared!  Fun and games!

Final stop, Lochan an h-Achlaise where we waited for the sunset.  It wasn't great from where we had parked our tripods but the loch was frozen and the light reflecting off it was lovely.  I have yet to look at those photos.

Last stop - the Real Food Cafe in Tyndrum for a veggie lentil burger and chips!  And boy was it yummy!  I didn't realise how hungry I was!!!

Knee is agony now as it has been bent and twisted in every direction today - but it was worth it to be out in the snow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.