Snow at the Sycamores

Roam arrived up from London last night for a flying visit, via Elland Road - where Leeds sneaked a last gasp draw, thus putting my boy into a far better mood than I had expected with just a few minutes of the game left to go (he doesn't do defeat gracefully). We've been hanging out today, exploring this new adult relationship we started developing on my visit to see him down south at Christmas. I'm very proud of the man he's rapidly becoming. We've had a good time together. We had intended to go into Leeds to watch a film (there being so many good movies on release at the moment) but just before we were due to leave he completely passed out, a little hungover after a late night out with his mates. I tried to wake up him up but it proved impossible, and I know better - from years of experience when he was a kid - that it's just not worth forcing him out of such a coma like state of deep sleep. We're going to catch a movie at home now instead.

I finally got some time to myself to play this morning, taking a run on the moor in the snow. I absolutely love running in the snow, especially in conditions like today when it's cold enough to keep the surface crunchy and your feet dry. It was my first proper run in a while and I took it quite gently. I'm aware of the calf still not being quite right but it held up well enough. It felt good to be on the way back - yet again. It snowed gently most of the time I was out. There was no sun to make the landscape sparkle but the mist that was constantly ebbing and flowing about made it all very atmospheric. It's a long time I think since I posted a shot of my favourite trees. And probably the first occasion I've included any people. I'm finding it hard these days to post even a landscape without the focal interest of some people in the picture somewhere! How times have changed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.